Review & Giveaway: bakerdays letterbox cake

Review & Giveaway: bakerdays letterbox cake

On Monday it was Oliver’s first birthday.  He had a proper birthday cake at his party but obviously I wanted a little one for the actual day.  I was so pleased when bakerdays got in contact with me, it was the perfect opportunity to review their cake!

“bakerdays is a Personalised Celebration Cake Specialist, providing quality personalised cakes for all occasions. The delicious range of recipes and sizes are available for delivery 6 days a week, and if you order before 2pm, bakerdays can deliver the very next day! The Letterbox cake is the baby of the bakerdays family. Being just 5” in diameter, it fits perfectly through the Letterbox allowing you to surprise anyone with the most delicious personalised gift.”

They make a good variety of sponges, vanilla, chocolate chip. red velvet, fruit cake, gluten wheat free and dairy free, so they cater for most people.  It arrived very quickly, annoyingly the postman rang the doorbell so I didn’t get to test whether or not it would fit through the letterbox, but it looked like it should!  I loved that it isn’t just a cake, there’s a card, balloons, candles and a hooter.  The tin is really sweet that it arrives in, as well, it would be perfect for a baked gift!

 The Cake

How sweet is it?  I picked the animal design and I love that you can upload a photo onto it.  They have cakes for every occasion you could think of, birthdays, anniversary’s, valentines, hen parties, baby shower, thank yous.  Basically if you think of an occasion I am pretty sure they would cater for it!  I even found an instagram cake on there!  They don’t just make letterbox cakes, they do 7, 9 and 12 inch cakes as well, the largest caters for up to 55 portions.  I think the letterbox cake would make a great gift to a friend or relative if they don’t live close by.

How was it?

It was perfectly soft, even though we had it for a couple of days before we actually used it.  It’s only one layer of cake, so there’s no buttercream.  I was worried that it might not be as nice without a filling, but it was just as delicious.  I’m not usually a fan of icing, but this was the perfect amount and not too sweet so I happily devoured it!  Oliver also agreed it tasted great!  The cake was gone within the day, so it definitely has the Miller household approval.

So where can you find bakerdays?

bakerdays can be found on facebook and twitter, as well as on their site www.bakerdays.com.  The site is super easy to navigate and the only problem I would have was deciding which design to choose!

Win

bakerdays have kindly offered one of my readers the chance to win their very own letterbox cake!  The competition is open from 15/02/17 12pm to 01/03/17 11:59pm. UK entrants only. The cake will be provided directly from bakerdays. I will contact the winner on 02/03/17.

Click below to enter!

Win a bakerdays letterbox cake

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: I was sent the cake in return for an honest review, all opinions and comments are my own.
Hot Pink Wellingtons
 photo signature_zpsxzjvt5vk.png
Follow:
Share:

128 Comments

  1. Alice
    February 15, 2017 / 12:40 pm

    This cake is so adorable! Also Oliver looks super cute in his little party hat! 😍 Xx

  2. Fiona K
    February 15, 2017 / 8:03 pm

    Great prize, am curious to try a letterbox cake soon

  3. Solange
    February 15, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    Such a cute cake. Love the animals on it.

  4. sam macaree
    February 15, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    great prize

  5. Helen Moulden
    February 15, 2017 / 8:55 pm

    Lovely giveaway, thank you!

  6. Alison
    February 15, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    The cakes look really good

  7. kim jackson
    February 15, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    wonderful blog 😀

  8. Fiona B
    February 15, 2017 / 9:41 pm

    Great prize!

  9. Lindsay chadburn
    February 15, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    Fab giveaway would love to win

  10. Mary N
    February 15, 2017 / 10:09 pm

    What a lovely cake. Baker Days have some many cute cakes on their website. I really love the emoji cakes

  11. Sarah Mackay
    February 15, 2017 / 11:58 pm

    Brilliant giveaway, thanks for the opportunity.

  12. HELEN GOSSAGE
    February 16, 2017 / 10:12 am

    These look great 🙂

  13. Sarah Lee
    February 16, 2017 / 12:15 pm

    Such a good idea

  14. amy bondoc
    February 16, 2017 / 12:45 pm

    these cakes sound yummy! i look forward to reading your future posts!

  15. Sarah N
    February 16, 2017 / 2:19 pm

    Great giveaway!

  16. Heather T
    February 16, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    Any cake would be fabulous for me

  17. Helen Tovell
    February 16, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    Lovely giveaway just perfect for my mum

  18. Tracey Peach
    February 16, 2017 / 7:42 pm

    Aww he’s so sweet Happy Birthday 🙂 x

  19. Rachael G
    February 16, 2017 / 8:44 pm

    Awww it looks like he really enjoyed it!

  20. Kim Neville
    February 16, 2017 / 9:40 pm

    They have some wonderful designs for their cakes

  21. Natalie Crossan
    February 16, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    I’m obsessed with baker day cakes 😀

  22. Laura Jeffs
    February 17, 2017 / 9:14 am

    Thank you so much for this brilliant giveaway! xx

  23. February 17, 2017 / 2:23 pm

    Happy birthday Oliver! These are so cute – we had one for Max’s 2nd birthday and we lugged it all around the zoo in it’s little tin and it was just perfect. So tasty and I love the whole letterbox concept. Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

  24. Ema J Lowe
    February 17, 2017 / 6:48 pm

    they look like some fab cakes.

  25. tee simpson
    February 18, 2017 / 12:07 am

    looks lovely. happy birthady to your little man

  26. Andrea Upton
    February 18, 2017 / 5:11 pm

    Super looking cake, love the icing!

  27. February 19, 2017 / 7:50 am

    Ah happy birthday to your little guy! I love baker days, there cakes are yummy. Love that you can put a photo on it! x #SharingtheBlogLove

  28. Andrea A
    February 19, 2017 / 11:31 am

    Happy Birthday Oliver. Thanks for taking the time to host a giveaway.

  29. Laura Nice
    February 19, 2017 / 12:54 pm

    Theses cakes are so yummy!!

  30. MANDY DOHERTY
    February 19, 2017 / 1:11 pm

    Love to win this to send to my son & grandsons

  31. Jade Hewlett
    February 19, 2017 / 1:17 pm

    The cake looks lovely

  32. Elisabeth Ries
    February 19, 2017 / 3:23 pm

    I love the idea of cake that fits through the letterbox!

  33. Fay
    February 19, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    These cakes look fantastic! So many designs to choose from too!

  34. Jules Eley
    February 19, 2017 / 8:31 pm

    Great review, I need to remember this for my little one’s birthday 🙂

  35. Victoria Shiel
    February 19, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    fab! Would love to win a letterbox cake

  36. Jo Carroll
    February 19, 2017 / 9:18 pm

    Lovely pictures. I like the look of bakerdays cakes…my only suggestion is that they include a waterproof layer to put over them when the older children go to blow out the candles 😉 x

  37. Stacey McKernan
    February 19, 2017 / 9:49 pm

    Fantastic prize, bang goes my diet 😁

  38. February 20, 2017 / 1:37 am

    Aww Oliver is a little cutie!
    These cakes look great, perfect if your after something personalised!

  39. Kat Lucas
    February 20, 2017 / 5:37 am

    Fab giveaway

  40. Deborah Clarke
    February 20, 2017 / 10:24 am

    Ooh yes please I NEED CAKE . Fab giveaway. Would love to be your lucky winner. Fingers crossed x

  41. Sarah Mcvicar
    February 20, 2017 / 11:39 am

    How cute is Oliver. I have an Oliver too

  42. Jackie Dawson
    February 20, 2017 / 12:31 pm

    Lovely giveaway!

  43. michelle o'neill
    February 20, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    Lovely giveaway

  44. Tracy Newton
    February 20, 2017 / 3:15 pm

    A great treat for my husbands birthday

  45. Katie m
    February 20, 2017 / 3:29 pm

    Yum yum 👅

  46. Pauline jaconelli
    February 20, 2017 / 5:00 pm

    Beautiful cake, It’s my little boys 2nd birthday in March so I’d love to win this for him, perfect size as we aren’t big cake lovers which means no waste

  47. hannah oneill
    February 20, 2017 / 8:03 pm

    This looks tasty

  48. Mrs Gemma Huelin
    February 20, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    What a fab giveaway x

  49. katrina walsh
    February 21, 2017 / 1:22 am

    Such a great range, Something for everyone xx

  50. February 21, 2017 / 4:16 pm

    Happy Birthday gorgeous boy! What a lovely cake you choose and I love the concept of this. Who wouldn’t want to receive this on their birthday. Thank you for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove x

  51. Rachel Craig
    February 21, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Great prize. Would be nice for Mothers Day etc.

  52. Carole E
    February 21, 2017 / 10:23 pm

    Happy birthday Oliver. Great giveaway

  53. February 22, 2017 / 4:42 pm

    This would save me so much worry over a cake for my daughter’s upcoming birthday. My Mum always made her cakes but she’s no longer with us.

  54. Susan Hoggett
    February 22, 2017 / 5:15 pm

    wow the cake looks great

  55. Debbie Henderson
    February 22, 2017 / 6:25 pm

    would make a great treat for my sons birthday in march .. just the right size for him to enjoy x

  56. SANDRA THOMAS
    February 22, 2017 / 10:54 pm

    WONDERFUL PRIZE FINGERS CROSSED SO CUTE THEM PICS

  57. Michaela Hannah
    February 23, 2017 / 5:52 am

    Happy 1st Birthday! such a cute cake x

  58. Sarah Fielding
    February 23, 2017 / 7:19 pm

    What an amazing giveaway!

  59. Kim K
    February 25, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    Such a cute cake! Oliver is a cutie, too!

  60. Abigail Cullen
    February 25, 2017 / 10:25 pm

    Wow, what a great giveaway, these cakes look great.

  61. purpleshoes
    February 26, 2017 / 2:23 pm

    fingers crossed!

  62. Farhana
    February 26, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    LOve the letterbox concept. They have lovely designs.

  63. Emma Rawlinson
    February 26, 2017 / 11:33 pm

    Happy birthday Oliver! Hope you all had a lovely day 🙂

  64. ADEINNE TONNER
    February 27, 2017 / 5:57 pm

    Happy Birthday Oliver hope you enjoyed the cake

  65. ELZBIETA ZNYK
    February 27, 2017 / 6:00 pm

    Looks amazing!!!

  66. Carol Cann
    February 27, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    Lovely cake and lovely photo’s

  67. Dawn Hull
    February 27, 2017 / 10:15 pm

    Lovely giveaway. Good luck everyone! Xx

  68. Adele Knight
    February 27, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    These look great cakes

  69. Hayley Mulgrove
    February 27, 2017 / 10:58 pm

    These cakes are soo lovely i sent my mum one last year and she loved it x

  70. Jo Glasspool
    February 28, 2017 / 12:12 am

    The cake looks lovely.

  71. Rich Tyler
    February 28, 2017 / 2:57 am

    Yummy!

  72. Marrian
    February 28, 2017 / 11:31 am

    Awesome cakes. I have four close relatives with birthdays in March, one of these would be perfect.

  73. February 28, 2017 / 12:11 pm

    This looks amazing!! Happybirthday little man!

  74. Samantha Philpott
    February 28, 2017 / 12:56 pm

    This cake looks so cute perfect treat for the kids

  75. Dale Dow
    February 28, 2017 / 12:59 pm

    always wanted to try a Baker Days cake

  76. Jessica Mellor
    February 28, 2017 / 1:56 pm

    Love that you can put a photo on it, what a good idea

  77. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    February 28, 2017 / 2:24 pm

    Brill prize and great idea!

  78. gemma hendry
    February 28, 2017 / 4:41 pm

    nothing better than a slice of cake

  79. Donna Clinton
    February 28, 2017 / 7:10 pm

    I would love to try a letterbox cake,what a great idea!

  80. Patricia Avery
    February 28, 2017 / 8:02 pm

    I think this is such a good idea. The cake looks delicious 🙂

  81. Kaytee Challenger
    February 28, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    happy birthday 🙂

  82. Jo McPherson
    February 28, 2017 / 9:02 pm

    Lovely cake

  83. Katy Malkin
    February 28, 2017 / 9:17 pm

    What a treat to get through the post!

  84. Ellen Stafford
    February 28, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    The cake looks fab! Thanks for the chance x

  85. Em S
    February 28, 2017 / 10:50 pm

    Looks very nice and easy to order

  86. Jamie C Millard
    February 28, 2017 / 11:45 pm

    they do look ace. if they taste half as good as they look we’re on to a winner

  87. Tara Bush
    March 1, 2017 / 5:54 am

    What a cutie. It looks like he loved his cake x

  88. Emma Hussain
    March 1, 2017 / 6:59 am

    Great giveaway

  89. Allan Wilson
    March 1, 2017 / 7:30 am

    Lovely prize – thank you.

  90. Joanne Hutchings
    March 1, 2017 / 8:23 am

    They sound like perfect little cakes. Thanks for the review.

  91. Allison Sherwood
    March 1, 2017 / 8:26 am

    tHIS LOOKS REALLY LOVELY

  92. angie pickering
    March 1, 2017 / 8:29 am

    Brilliant ! Cake looks fab and Oliver is gorgeous!

  93. Christine Edmonds
    March 1, 2017 / 10:07 am

    Hope it was a great birthday, mine is on Saturday 🙂

  94. zoe brown
    March 1, 2017 / 10:16 am

    would love this for my nephews birthday

  95. pauline black
    March 1, 2017 / 10:17 am

    fab giveaway. I have thought about buying one but was concerned it might get damaged in the post

  96. Lori
    March 1, 2017 / 11:40 am

    Great giveaway! Thanks 🙂

  97. Terrie-Ann Wright
    March 1, 2017 / 11:42 am

    They have a great choice of cakes – thanks for the lovely giveaway!

  98. Corinne Wright
    March 1, 2017 / 11:54 am

    These look great! My boys birthday is in April and one of these would be perfect

  99. Faith Paul
    March 1, 2017 / 11:59 am

    great prize

  100. Tess D
    March 1, 2017 / 12:24 pm

    great cakes would love to win one -thanks for the chance

  101. Rebecca roberts
    March 1, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    These cakes look amazing!

  102. Margaret Abram
    March 1, 2017 / 1:16 pm

    Really lovely cake. My grandson’s one from them was gorgeous. Unfortunately the one I ordered was delivered to a neighbour and went missing until after the event.

  103. Cupcake R
    March 1, 2017 / 1:26 pm

    Looks like a great cake!

  104. Sarah Parker
    March 1, 2017 / 1:58 pm

    great competition 🙂

  105. lucinda duxbury
    March 1, 2017 / 2:42 pm

    nice cake 🙂

  106. Lisa Mauchline
    March 1, 2017 / 3:43 pm

    Its my little girls 2nd Birthday in 2 weeks, this would be great for her

  107. Karen Laing
    March 1, 2017 / 4:08 pm

    When I first heard about Letterbox cakes I was perplexed,how can a cake be put through a letterbox,however I since had one and I have to agree,they’re fabulous,really tasty and special x

  108. paula cheadle
    March 1, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    looks really good

  109. Sarah Wilson
    March 1, 2017 / 4:44 pm

    These are such a fab idea!

  110. Krzysia
    March 1, 2017 / 5:07 pm

    What a great idea that it can fit through the letterbox. No need to be waiting in all day!

  111. Nina
    March 1, 2017 / 5:41 pm

    This is so cute!

  112. Tom Ash
    March 1, 2017 / 6:06 pm

    Lovely blog post! What an ideal giveaway – my nephew will be one very soon too!

  113. Lorraine Stone
    March 1, 2017 / 7:40 pm

    Looks great, lots of lovely designs. Fingers crossed!

  114. Jessica Hutton
    March 1, 2017 / 7:59 pm

    He is adorable and the cake looks lovely xx

  115. Sammy j
    March 1, 2017 / 9:00 pm

    Wow looks like he had a fantastic da, loive the cake colours and what a beautiful boy Oliver is.

  116. Lia Burns
    March 1, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    Bless him! These look yummy x

  117. Lynsey Buchanan
    March 1, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    Great Giveaway – Thanks for the chance.

  118. Gill Mitchell
    March 1, 2017 / 9:41 pm

    What a brilliant giveaway! Perfect for my son’s birthday

  119. Rachael Ashmore
    March 1, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    Wow that is so adorable 🌹

  120. Lynette Heagin
    March 1, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    Aww I hope he had a great birthday 🙂

  121. Emma Lycett
    March 1, 2017 / 10:44 pm

    I just love cake!

  122. claire little
    March 1, 2017 / 11:19 pm

    awww lovely

  123. March 19, 2017 / 1:06 pm

    great idea, belated happy birthday Oliver!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge